Lauriston Girls' School was established in 1901 by Margaret and Lilian Irving, daughters of the eminent Victorian educator Professor Martin Howy Irving.
Rapidly acquiring a reputation for academic and sporting excellence, the School outgrew its first home in Erskine Street, Malvern and moved to its present site in Huntingtower Road, Armadale in 1907.
Under the competent stewardship of Miss Elizabeth Kirkhope, the Lauriston educated successor to the Irving sisters, the School was able to withstand the financial and social pressures which forced the closure of many independent schools during the Depression years.
In 1948, Miss Kirkhope successfully managed the transition of the School from private ownership to a non-profit limited guarantee company, whilst protecting the School's non-denominational religious status. Under the leadership of Miss Gladys Davies, another Lauriston educated alumna, the School undertook an ambitious building program during the 1950s and 1960s, to provide students with modern, purpose-built facilities on the Huntingtower Road site.
The campus was further expanded in the 1970s with the purchase of landmark heritage buildings 'Blairholme' and 'Montrose' to house the lower and upper primary grades. In 1993, Lauriston opened its country campus in the Howqua Valley, providing Year 9 students with a full year of unique and challenging outdoor academic programs. The recent completion of a new Library and Resource Centre at Howqua, and a dedicated Year 7/8 Centre at Huntingtower Road, underscores Lauriston's ongoing commitment to improved learning spaces.