

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE OLD LAURISTONIANS' ASSOCIATION (INC.)

The one hundred and eleventh (111th) Annual General Meeting of the Old Lauristonians` Association (Inc.) held at Lauriston Girls' School, Armadale, on Monday 29 May 2023 at 6.00 pm.

MINUTES OF MEETING

Date	Monday, 29 May 2023	Location:	Conference Room, Lauriston Girls' School with online access
Time	6.00 pm	Chair:	Anna Wilson
Attendees	Anna Wilson (1990), Amanda Smith (1993), Charley Lupson (2015), Jacqui Jiang (2015), Sarah Smith (1989), Sophie Rice (1985), Suzie Hill (1969), Marie-Claire Ross (1988). Online: Caroline Ramsden (2010)		
Apologies	Steph Phillips (2004), Alex Harvey (2002), Caroline Morrison (1984), Claudette Leeming (1991), Lisa McLellan (1981), Melanie Davey (2004), Molly Temay (2010), Rachel Irons (1989), Stephanie Aitken (2015), Hibah Jamal (2015), Assoc Prof Jane Freemantle OAM (1966)		
Guests	Penny Richards Fowler (LGS); Catherine McVean (LGS), Susan Just (LGS – Principal)		

ITEM 1 - MINUTES AND MATTERS

The 2022 AGM Minutes and Notice of the AGM were circulated to alumnae community via email over 6 weeks prior to the AGM, along with relevant meeting documentation.

Reviewed minutes of 2022 Annual General Meeting – taken as read.

Approved and accepted.

Moved: Anna Wilson

Seconded: Jacqui Jiang

ITEM 2 – PRESIDENT'S REPORT

Welcome to the 111th AGM of the Old Lauristonians` Association.

Anna Wilson highlighted aspects from her President's report and Catherine's Alumnae Relations Annual Report reflecting on activities and initiatives the OLA has supported and achieved:

- The 3rd OLA Fellowship is about to be launched, with the 2nd recipient as Steph Parsons (2011).
- An OLA Strategy session was held in 2022 defining the OLA's mission and activities from 2022/2023 in support of 2 very successful events.
- The alumnae office published many social media stories throughout the year highlighting and acknowledging the OLA alumnae community.
- The OLA initiated a new ring for the year 12s- a joint gift from the OLA and the school, presented at Valedictory 2022 this will continue in 2023 and beyond.
- The Alumnae Office hosted face-to-face reunions, also incorporating the ability to dial-in if not able to attend in person.
- Increased readership of the BTFT and other publications and online comms.
- Management of the induction of new members Class of 2022

- Annual OLA awards were presented at Valedictory 2022 and will continue going forward.
- Increase in data integrity to ensure accurate contact information is continually being updated.
- The OLA has worked collaboratively with the school, particularly Catherine McVean, to support Senior Students, our youngest OLs and increase engagement across our entire community. The success of the recent Student Futures Program in 2023 was a wonderful program which saw over 100 members of our alumnae contribute and participate in the initiatives over a 7-day period.

Approved and accepted.

Moved: Anna Wilson

Seconded: Amanda Smith

ITEM 3 – TREASURER'S REPORT

It is to be noted that Caroline Morrison resigned as Treasurer at the conclusion of 2022. Erica Cuthbertson in the Accounts Department at School has been supporting the OLA, and the OLA offers heartfelt thanks to Erica for her support in the absence of a Treasurer. The full report was circulated to the alumnae community via email approximately 6 weeks prior to the AGM and is available on the Lauriston website. Taken as read.

Marie-Claire Ross asked the reason for the dramatic increase in funds in the general bank account. Anna responded explaining that with support from the School Council Treasurer, investments with Evans and Partners had been cashed out, and funds from these investments had been deposited into the general bank account. The OLA is now in the process of working out where these funds can be used or where future investments can be made.

The OLA continues to seek a Treasurer and welcomes nominations going forward.

Approved and accepted.

Moved: Anna Wilson

Second: Charley Lupson

ITEM 4 - ELECTION – MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

Office Bearers:

Anna Wilson (1990) – President Marie-Claire Ross (1988) – Vice President Vacant – Honourable Treasurer Vacant – Honourable Secretary

General Committee:

Amanda Smith (1993) – General Committee

Jacqui Jiang (2015) – General Committee

Charley Lupson (2015) – General Committee

Sophie Rice (1985) – General Committee

Sarah Smith (1989) – General Committee

Alex Harvey (2002) – General Committee

Hibah Jamal (2015) - General Committee

Rachel Irons (1989) - OLA Representative on School Council

Notice to the AGM:

We would like to acknowledge the following members who will not be continuing with the OLA Committee. We would like to extend our most heartfelt thanks for their contribution during their time on the committee:

Caroline Ramsden (2010)

Caroline Morrison (1984)

Claudette Leeming (1991)

Melanie Davey (2004)

Steph Aitken (2015)

Steph Phillips (2004)

Molly Temay (2010)

Lisa McLellan (1981)

New Nomination:

Marie-Claire Ross (1988) – Vice President

Moved: Anna Wilson

Seconded: Sarah Smith

ITEM 5 - ELECTION - OLA REPRESENTATIVE FOR LAURISTON COUNCIL

Confirmed Rachael Irons as OLA Representative to School Council.

Moved: Anna Wilson

Seconded: Amanda Smith

ITEM 6 – GENERAL BUSINESS

None.

Annual General Meeting closed at 6.26 pm.